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FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT 
The proposed amendment was analyzed late in the 2023 calendar year.  At that time, litigation was pending 
before the Florida Supreme Court challenging the Legislature’s 2022 enactment of a prohibition on most 
abortions being performed if the gestational age of the fetus is more than 15 weeks.  If the Court upholds 
the 2022 law, a 2023 law further reducing the 15 weeks to 6 weeks will take effect 30 days later.  This could 
lead to additional litigation.  In order to measure the proposed amendment’s impact on state and local 
government revenues and costs, a reasonable expectation of what the state of the law will be at the time of 
the election is required.  Because there are several possible outcomes related to this litigation that differ 
widely in their effects, the impact of the proposed amendment on state and local government revenues 
and costs, if any, cannot be determined. 
 
 
SUMMARY OF INITIATIVE FINANCIAL INFORMATION STATEMENT 
One year prior to the election, it is impossible to predict with any reasonable certainty what the legal 
landscape will be when the proposed amendment is on the ballot in November 2024.  When this proposed 
amendment was analyzed, litigation was pending before the Florida Supreme Court challenging the 
Legislature’s 2022 enactment of a prohibition on most abortions being performed if the gestational age of 
the fetus is more than 15 weeks.  If the Court upholds the 2022 law, a 2023 law further reducing the 15 
weeks to 6 weeks will take effect 30 days later.  This could lead to additional litigation.   

At least four possible outcomes could occur from these events.  Not knowing which outcome will be in 
place makes a material difference to the financial impacts of the proposed amendment, if any.  At a 
minimum, there is a significant difference in the number of abortions that occur up to and including 6 
weeks and 15 weeks.  This is because the number of abortions by weeks of gestation are skewed towards 
fewer weeks of gestation.  For this reason, budgetary or revenue effects that are limited or undetectable at 
15 weeks may be much stronger at 6 weeks. 

• With respect to abortions themselves, prior case law in Florida indicates that the state does not 
have an obligation to pay for them.  The Florida Legislature has made no changes to its policies 
regarding state abortion funding under either the 15-week or 6-week prohibitions.  Future 
legislative changes, if any, in response to the passage of the proposed amendment are unknown.  

• Some state programs may be affected by differences in the number of live births in the state.  With 
respect to the education system and health and human services, if the 15-week prohibition is 
upheld by the Florida Supreme Court, regardless of whether the 6-week prohibition goes into 
effect, it is probable that the state will experience cost savings because of the proposed 
amendment.  Alternatively, if the 15-week prohibition is not upheld, there would be no savings as 
the baseline policy would be essentially equivalent to the proposed amendment. 

• At least one government program may be affected by the proposed amendment’s requirement that 
no law shall prohibit, penalize, delay, or restrict abortion.  If the 15-week prohibition is upheld, 
regardless of whether the 6-week prohibition goes into effect, it is probable that there will be cost 
savings to the criminal justice system as certain criminal penalties are invalidated.  Alternatively, if 
the 15-week prohibition is not upheld, there would be no savings within the criminal justice system 
as the baseline policy would be essentially equivalent to the proposed amendment. 
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• With respect to state and local revenues, the baseline for the analysis is uncertain. While increased 
travel to the state would be expected to result in higher sales tax collections, this result, if it 
occurred, would not be a direct effect of the proposed amendment. 

 
 
SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
A. Proposed Amendment 

 
Ballot Title: 
 

Amendment to Limit Government Interference with Abortion 
 

Ballot Summary: 
 
No law shall prohibit, penalize, delay, or restrict abortion before viability or when necessary to protect the 
patient’s health, as determined by the patient’s healthcare provider. This amendment does not change the 
Legislature’s constitutional authority to require notification to a parent or guardian before a minor has an 
abortion. 
 
Article and Section Being Created or Amended: 
Creates – Article 1, New Section 
 
Full Text of the Proposed Amendment: 

New Section, Amendment to Limit Government Interference with Abortion 

Limiting government interference with abortion.— Except as provided in Article X, Section 22, no law 
shall prohibit, penalize, delay, or restrict abortion before viability or when necessary to protect the 
patient’s health, as determined by the patient’s healthcare provider. 
 
 
B. Effective Date 

 
Article XI, Section 5(e), Florida Constitution, states: “Unless otherwise specifically provided for elsewhere in 
this constitution, if the proposed amendment or revision is approved by vote of at least sixty percent of the 
electors voting on the measure, it shall be effective as an amendment to or revision of the constitution of 
the state on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in January following the election, or on such other date 
as may be specified in the amendment or revision.” 
 
Assuming the initiative is on the ballot in 2024, the effective date would be January 7, 2025. 
 
 
C. Formal Communications to and from the Sponsor, Proponents, and Opponents 

 
The Sponsor, Floridians Protecting Freedom, Inc., designated four representatives to speak on its behalf at 
meetings held by the Financial Impact Estimating Conference (FIEC):  Kara Gross, Sara Latshaw, Pamela 
Burch Fort, and Michelle Morton. 
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D. Input Received from the Sponsor, Proponents, Opponents, and Interested Parties 
 
The FIEC allows any proponent, opponent, or interested party to present or provide the conference with 
materials to consider. The FIEC received input from a designated representative from the Sponsor, both in 
writing and orally at the first workshop. Follow-up information was submitted by the Sponsor after each of 
the first two meetings for the FIEC’s review and consideration. 
 
In addition, a representative from an opponent, Susan B. Anthony Pro-Life America, presented to the FIEC 
and submitted written comments. Follow-up information was also submitted. In addition, materials were 
received from a proponent of the amendment, the Institute for Women’s Policy Research, and one 
opponent of the amendment, The Heritage Foundation.  
  
The FIEC requested and received input and/or materials for staff analysis from the following state agencies: 
the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA), the Department of Children and Families, the 
Department of Corrections, and the Department of Management Services. A representative from AHCA’s 
Division of Health Care Policy & Oversight also submitted materials and presented to the FIEC on two 
occasions.  
 
Representatives for both the Florida League of Cities and the Florida Association of Counties were 
contacted, but no response was received from either organization. 
 
Documentation of all written comments and materials received by the FIEC can be found in the EDR 
Notebook on the website at:  http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/constitutional-
amendments/2024Ballot/LimitGovernmentInterferencewithAbortionNotebook.pdf 
 
In addition, the public meetings were recorded and archived by The Florida Channel. These recordings may 
be viewed at:  https://thefloridachannel.org. 
 
 
E. Background (Summary of Current Law) 
 
In 2022, the Legislature passed HB 5 (ch. 2022-69, L.O.F.) prohibiting a physician from performing an 
abortion if the physician determines the gestational age of the fetus is more than 15 weeks.1 The bill 
became law and maintains medical exceptions2 to the prohibitions that were in effect under prior law while 
creating a new exception for fatal fetal abnormalities.3,4 Shortly before the law was to take effect on July 1, 
2022, various abortion providers filed a legal challenge to the 15-week prohibition. The case is currently 
pending before the Florida Supreme Court in Planned Parenthood of Southwest and Central Florida v. State 
of Florida.5 The law is not enjoined and remains in effect throughout the duration of the pending litigation. 
 
In 2023, the Legislature passed SB 300 (ch. 2023-21, L.O.F.) prohibiting abortions if the gestational age of 
the fetus is more than 6 weeks. The bill retains the medical and fatal fetal abnormality exceptions and adds 
exceptions for rape, incest, or human trafficking if the gestational age of the fetus is less than 15 weeks and 
                                                            
1 15 weeks is calculated based upon the first day of the woman’s last menstrual period. 
2 The medical exception applies if two physicians, or one physician in the case of an emergency, certify in writing that, in 

reasonable medical judgment, the termination of the pregnancy is necessary to save the pregnant woman’s life or avert a serious 
risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function of the pregnant woman other than a 
psychological condition. 

3 A “fatal fetal abnormality” is a terminal condition that, in reasonable medical judgment, regardless of the provision of life-saving 
medical treatment, is incompatible with life outside the womb and will result in death upon birth or imminently thereafter. 

4 Section 390.0111, F.S. 
5 The Florida Supreme Court heard oral arguments on September 8, 2023, but to date has not rendered an opinion in this matter. 

https://thefloridachannel.org/
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the pregnant woman provides specified documentation. However, the provisions of SB 300 only take effect 
if specified events occur that change Florida’s jurisprudence on the privacy clause in the state constitution, 
which include: 

 
• The Florida Supreme Court: 

o Recedes from its decision in In Re T.W.6 or its progeny; or  
o Determines that the Florida Constitution’s privacy provision does not include abortion; or 
o Rules in favor of the state in the current case challenging the 15-week abortion prohibition 

(Planned Parenthood of Southwest and Central Florida v. State of Florida). 
 

or 
 

• Florida voters adopt a state constitutional amendment clarifying that the right to privacy does not 
include abortion. 

 
To date, none of these events have occurred, and the provisions of HB 5 remain in effect. 

Below is a map showing the status of abortion bans in the United States as of October 24, 2023. This map 
was extracted from the KFF website on that date and can be found at https://www.kff.org/womens-health-
policy/dashboard/abortion-in-the-u-s-dashboard/#state7. 

As the map displays, Florida was one of seven states that had an abortion ban with a gestational limit 
between 15 and 22 week LMP (last menstrual period). 

  

                                                            
6 The Florida Supreme Court held in In re T.W. that the express right to privacy contained within Article I, s. 23 of the Florida 

Constitution “is clearly implicated in a woman’s decision whether or not to continue her pregnancy”. 
7 Formally known as the Kaiser Family Foundation.  

https://www.kff.org/womens-health-policy/dashboard/abortion-in-the-u-s-dashboard/#state
https://www.kff.org/womens-health-policy/dashboard/abortion-in-the-u-s-dashboard/#state
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F. Discussion of Impact of Proposed Amendment 
 
Potential Conflicts with Current Statutes 
 
The proposed constitutional amendment would supersede many provisions in Chapter 390, F.S., which are 
directly related to abortion procedures.  

 
Potential Impact of the Amendment 
 
At the time this analysis was prepared, the 15-week prohibition was in effect. Relative to the 15-week 
prohibition, the proposed constitutional amendment has the potential to affect the state’s costs, primarily 
through savings. Likewise, the state’s revenues may be affected. 
 
The major programs and revenues are described in the remainder of this document; however, to calculate 
the proposed constitutional amendment’s financial impacts, the appropriate baseline for measurement 
must first be determined. This baseline represents the status quo or pre-change condition. The difference 
estimated to result from the proposed change (positive or negative) is then determined by measuring the 
post-change condition against the baseline. An increased cost would be expected to increase or a savings 
would be expected to decrease the state’s budget in the future, while an increase in tax or fee collections 
would be expected to increase the state’s revenue and the opposite would be expected to decrease it in 
the future. In the case of the proposed amendment, at the time this analysis was prepared, the appropriate 
baseline for November 2024 was unclear.  
 
The graphic below illustrates both the uncertainty and complexity of the legal landscape that will be in 
place when the amendment is on the ballot in November 2024. 

 
 

This legal uncertainty makes a material difference to the potential financial impacts of the proposed 
amendment. For example, there is a significant difference in the number of abortions that occur up to and 
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including 6 weeks and 15 weeks. The table below shows the number of reported abortions in Florida by 
known week of gestation during different calendar years. The 2020 calendar year uses the most recent 
published data from CDC, while 2021 and 2022 use unpublished data from the Agency for Health Care 
Administration. The weeks of gestation starting July 1, 2022 use a revised state definition that is calculated 
from the first day of the pregnant woman’s last menstrual period. Prior to this, the calculation was based 
on the clinician’s estimate. 
 

 

 Percentages may not add to 100.0 due to rounding. 

The number of abortions by weeks of gestation are skewed towards fewer weeks of gestation.  For this 
reason, budgetary or revenue effects that are limited or undetectable at 15 weeks of gestation may be 
much stronger at 6 weeks of gestation. 
 
State and Local Costs: 
 
A. Criminal Justice System 

Under current law, there are four felonies related to abortion that exist under Chapter 390, F.S. Section 
390.0111, F.S., includes a Level 1, 3rd degree felony for “any person who willfully performs, or actively 
participates in, a termination of pregnancy in violation of the requirements of” how pregnancies should 
be terminated, including when it is permitted to terminate a pregnancy after the gestational age of 15 
weeks, and when a partial-birth abortion or experimentation on a fetus is permitted. A Level 4, 2nd 
degree felony is also included for “any person who performs, or actively participates in, a termination 
of pregnancy in violation of this section or s. 390.01112, F.S., which results in the death of the woman.” 
Additionally, it includes a Level 1, 3rd degree felony for a person who violates the requirements that an 
infant “born alive during or immediately after an attempted abortion” be treated like “any other child 
born alive in the course of natural birth.” Section 390.01112, F.S., states that “no termination of 
pregnancy shall be performed on any human being if the physician determines that, in reasonable 
medical judgment, the fetus has achieved viability,” with exceptions. Section 390.01114, F.S., includes a 
Level 1, 3rd degree felony for “a physician who intentionally or recklessly performs or induces, or 
attempts to perform or induce, a termination of a pregnancy of a minor without obtaining the required 
consent” from a parent or legal guardian. 

Given the data available from the Florida Department of Corrections, there have been no commitments 
to prison for any of the felonies described above—either before or after the enactment of the 2022 
legislative change to 15 weeks (ch. 2022-69, L.O.F.). 8 It should be noted that the 15-week language just 
went into effect last year, and given the time it would take from arrest to adjudication, it is likely that 

                                                            
8  The data series from the Florida Department of Corrections begins in 1979. 

Weeks of Gestation Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent
≤6 55,834              74.6 58,136              72.8 46,011             55.7
7–9 11,686              15.6 13,436              16.8 24,015             29.1
10–13 4,768                6.4 5,321                6.7 9,384               11.4
14–15 1,005                1.3 1,140                1.4 1,859               2.3
16–17 652                   0.9 734                   0.9 527                  0.6
18–20 704                   0.9 764                   1.0 572                  0.7
≥21 219                   0.3 286                   0.4 213                  0.3

Total abortions reported by 
known gestational age 74,868              79,817              82,581             

2022
(definitional change)20212020
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few, if any, current or future offenders would have moved through the criminal justice system at this 
point. 

Conclusion:  As previously noted, the baseline for the analysis is uncertain. As illustrated in the graphic 
in Section F of this document, there are scenarios where either a 6-week prohibition or a 15-week 
prohibition could be in effect in November 2024. In either event, it is probable that there will be cost 
savings to the criminal justice system. The magnitude of those savings will differ depending on which 
prohibition (15-week or 6-week) is in effect. Alternatively, if the 15-week prohibition is not upheld, 
there would be no savings within the criminal justice system as the baseline policy would be essentially 
equivalent to the proposed amendment. Without knowing these answers, the impact is indeterminate. 

B. Education Services 

Florida resident births directly influence the state’s future preschool and school age populations. The 
initial effects of policies that impact birth rates may be seen in the school system beginning three to 
four years following the change. The first educational setting that could experience differences would 
be Florida’s Exceptional Student Education programs, including public schools and the Family 
Empowerment Scholarship Program for Students with Unique Abilities. In 2022-23, these two programs 
for three and four year olds with additional needs for learning support served roughly 15 percent of this 
age group. The next program preschoolers can participate in is Florida’s universal Voluntary 
Prekindergarten Program (VPK), which serves 65.7 percent of four year olds. 

The full-effect of policies that influence birth rates and their interactions with Florida’s schools would 
begin five to six years following the policy change, once students reach the age of compulsory 
education. Florida’s school choice landscape would result in the effects of the policies being felt across 
public, private, and home education settings beginning in Kindergarten. Once students are eligible for 
Kindergarten, impacts are cumulative – stretching across 13 grades from Kindergarten to 12th grade. 
After 18 years of policy change, all 15 years of education across three settings (public, private, and 
home), two key scholarship programs (Family Empowerment Scholarship and Florida Tax Credit 
Scholarship programs) and five major funding programs (Florida Education Finance Program, VPK within 
the General Appropriations Act, Florida Tax Credit Scholarship Program, Hope Scholarship Program, and 
Sales Tax Credit Scholarship Program) would ultimately feel the full effect of policies influencing birth 
rates. 

In FY 2023-24, the typical VPK cost is $2,839 per student. As of July 2023, the FY 2023-24 statewide 
funds per unweighted PreK-12 FTE was $8,668, with average scholarship amounts ranging from $7,800 
for a private school scholarship to $10,900 for a unique abilities scholarship. Further, costs across the 
public school setting and scholarship programs depend on the grade, level of needs, and residence of 
each student. 
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Conclusion: As previously noted, the baseline for the analysis is uncertain. As illustrated in the graphic 
in Section F of this document, there are scenarios where either a 6-week prohibition or a 15-week 
prohibition could be in effect in November 2024. In either event, it is probable that there will be cost 
savings to education services. The magnitude of those savings will differ depending on which 
prohibition (15-week or 6-week) is in effect. Alternatively, if the 15-week prohibition is not upheld, 
there would be no savings within education services as the baseline policy would be essentially 
equivalent to the proposed amendment. Without knowing these answers, the impact is indeterminate. 

 

C. Health and Human Services 

Florida offers a wide range of social services to support residents with medical, food, and cash 
assistance that are partially dependent on Florida’s population and birth rate. While there are programs 
that are purely federally funded, many programs use a mix of state and federal funding. An example of 
the latter is the Medicaid program that provides medical assistance to individuals and families to cover 
or assist in the cost of services that are medically necessary. Another example is the Temporary Cash 
Assistance program that provides financial assistance to pregnant women in their third trimester and 
families with dependent children to assist in the payment of rent, utilities and other household 
expenses. As many of these programs serve children as well as new or expecting mothers, any changes 
in Florida resident births affect the number of people potentially eligible for these various social 
services for both the birthed and the birthing.  

For children in Florida needing medical assistance, the state offers Medicaid and Kidcare (Title XXI 
Children’s Health Program—CHIP). Children from birth until their first birthday are eligible for Medicaid 
if the household income is below 200 percent of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). After their first 
birthday, the household income threshold drops to 133 percent of the FPL. Those children remain 
Medicaid eligible up until their nineteenth birthday (there are special programs for 19 and 20 years old 
based on a fixed income dollar amount). If household income is above 133 percent but below 300 
percent of the FPL, children are eligible for Medikids Title XXI. If household income is above 300 
percent, children are eligible for Medikids Full Pay. Eligibility for both Medikids programs covers 
children until their fifth birthday. From ages 5 to 18 years old, under the same FPL thresholds, children 
are eligible for Florida Healthy Kids Title XXI or Full Pay. Children in income eligible households with 
special healthcare needs that require extensive preventive and ongoing care are eligible for the 
Children’s Medical Services health plan (CMS). 
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With coverage beginning as early as birth, the effects of any changes to the birth rate can be cumulative 
and varying. Medicaid covers almost one-half of the births (45.47 percent CY 2021) in the state. They 
maintain that coverage until their first birthday is reached and their eligibility is reassessed. Many 
remain on Medicaid, move to a CHIP program, or are able to find health insurance elsewhere. As of 
August 2023, 47.4 percent (2,490,633) of the 5.3 million Medicaid enrollees were under the age of 18 
with ages from 0 to five years making up approximately 33 percent of the total under 18. CHIP covers a 
further 138,293 children under the age of 18 with Medikids covering 12,281, Healthy Kids covering 
118,281 and CMS covering 7,731. It should also be noted that the federal Public Health Emergency 
(PHE) significantly affected enrollment leading into this period. The tables below show current 
enrollment as of August 2023 and December 2019, the month before the PHE retroactively went into 
effect (the PHE began in March 2020 but continuous enrollment was retroactive to January 1, 2020). 

 

 

While children under the age of 18 make up almost one-half of the Medicaid enrollees, they account for 
approximately a quarter of the total Medicaid expenditure. In SFY 2021-22, children were 49.06 percent 
of enrollees and 24.5 percent of expenditures. The 2023 Rate Year (October 2022 – September 2023) 
statewide average MMA capitation rate for a child between the age of one month and eleven months 
without a serious mental illness (SMI) was $274.25 per month ($3,291.00 per year). For a similar child 
between a year and 13 years old, that rate was $134.86 per month ($1,618.32 per year). There are 



 November 16, 2023  Page 10 

circumstances where the expenditure on a child is higher than these statewide averages. Children on 
the CMS plan typically have higher per person per month expenditures, but they account for a small 
portion of the total children on Medicaid. 

As mentioned above, Medicaid covers a significant number of the births in Florida (see table below). 
There is also pre- and postnatal public assistance for the mothers. Medical assistance for pregnant 
women is available through various Medicaid programs. A pregnant woman who is eligible for regular 
Medicaid (income below 185 percent FPL) for at least one month, including a retroactive month, is 
eligible to receive Medicaid throughout her pregnancy and until the end of the 12th month after the 
birth (postpartum period). The family planning waiver program covers family planning services to 
eligible women, ages 14 through 55. Services are provided up to 24 months. Eligibility is limited to 
women with family incomes at or below 191 percent of the FPL who have lost or are losing Florida 
Medicaid State Plan eligibility and are not otherwise eligible for Medicaid, Children’s Health Insurance 
Program, or health insurance coverage that provides family planning services. 

Recipients losing SOBRA (pregnancy Medicaid) eligibility will have passive enrollment during the first 12 
months of losing Medicaid. Non-SOBRA women have to actively apply for the first year of benefits at 
their local county health departments. All women enrolled in the family planning waiver have active re-
determination of eligibility through their local county health departments after 12 months of family 
planning waiver eligibility. In order to receive the second year of benefits, recipients must reapply at 
their local county health departments. 

As of August 2023, there were 333,510 individuals receiving Medicaid or the Family Planning waiver to 
assist with the pregnancies. Of the total, 150,546 receive Pregnant Women Medicaid and 182,964 
utilize the Family Planning Waiver. 

 

 

The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families – Temporary Cash Assistance (TCA) program provides 
cash assistance to families with children under the age of 18 or under age 19 if full time secondary (high 
school) school students. The program helps families become self-supporting while allowing children to 
remain in their own homes. Pregnant women may also receive TCA, either in the third trimester of 
pregnancy if unable to work, or in the 9th month of pregnancy. Eligibility for the TCA program is similar 
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to Medicaid eligibility with a few other technical requirements. Gross income must be less than 185 
percent of the FPL and countable income cannot be higher than the payment standard for the family 
size. Individuals get a $90 deduction from their gross earned income. Some people must participate in 
work activities unless they meet an exemption. Regional Workforce Boards provide work activities and 
services needed to get or keep a job. Individuals who receive TCA are eligible for Medicaid. Individuals 
who are eligible for TCA, but choose not to receive it, may still be eligible for Medicaid. Florida law 
creates four categories of families who may be eligible for TCA. While many of the basic eligibility 
requirements apply to all of these categories, there are some distinctions between the categories in 
terms of requirements and restrictions: 

• Child-Only Families:  These families include situations where the child is living with a 
relative or situations where a custodial parent is not eligible to be included in the eligibility 
group. 

• Relative Caregiver Program: A specialized program for child-only families where the child 
has been adjudicated dependent due to abuse or neglect and has been placed with a 
grandparent or other relative by the court. These relatives are eligible for a payment that is 
higher than the typical child-only payment, but less than the payment for licensed foster 
care 

• Single-Family Parents with Children:  Parents with children can receive cash assistance for 
the parent and the children. 

• Two-Parent Families with Children:  Are eligible on the same basis as single-parent families 
except the work requirement for two-parent families includes a higher number of hours of 
participation per week (35 hours or 55 hours if childcare is subsidized) than required for 
single-parent families (30 hours). 

In FY 2022-23, these four programs assisted 67,224 individuals (in FY 2019-20 that number was 61,260). 
Both the Child-Only Families and Relative Caregiver programs have experienced steady declines in 
terms of cases and persons served. The other two programs have seen increases over the last few fiscal 
years that are mostly driven by increased activity among non-citizens seeking assistance.  

 
 

Looking at the age groups served by the TCA programs, ages six and over represent the majority of 
those receiving assistance (approximately 70 percent). Children from birth to 5 years old make up a 
smaller proportion of TCA recipients, but are usually also receiving other forms of public assistance as 
well. While these individuals are treated separately from Medicaid, they are included in the total 
caseload counts reported each month. 
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Finally, the foster care system in Florida serves children from birth until their 18th birthday. There are 
specialty programs to extend foster care services to those older than eighteen, but the majority of 
those receiving these services are seventeen or younger. In 2022, 24,245 children (aged 0-17) received 
foster care services. These services are federally funded through Title IV of the Social Security Act with 
matching state funds (similar to Medicaid and CHIP). Title IV-E provides federal funding to help provide 
foster care, independent living services, adoption assistance, and guardianship assistance. Like all states 
that receive Title IV-E funds for foster care, independent living services, adoption assistance, and 
guardianship assistance, Florida must follow a Title IV-E State Plan. 

Conclusion: As previously noted, the baseline for the analysis is uncertain. As illustrated in the graphic 
in Section F of this document, there are scenarios where either a 6-week prohibition or a 15-week 
prohibition could be in effect in November 2024. In either event, it is probable that there will be cost 
savings to health and human services. The magnitude of those savings will differ depending on which 
prohibition (15-week or 6-week) is in effect. Alternatively, if the 15-week prohibition is not upheld, 
there would be no savings within health and human services as the baseline policy would be essentially 
equivalent to the proposed amendment. Without knowing these answers, the impact is indeterminate. 

 
 

D. Federal and State Funds for Abortion 
First passed in 1976, the Hyde Amendment refers to annual funding restrictions that Congress has 
regularly included in the annual appropriations acts for the Departments of Labor, Health and Human 
Services, Education, and related agencies.  
 
The most recently enacted version of the Hyde Amendment (P.L. 117-103. Div. H, §§ 506–507), 
applicable for federal fiscal year 2022, prohibits covered funds to be expended for any abortion or to 
provide health benefits coverage that includes abortion. This restriction, however, does not apply to 
abortions of pregnancies that are the result of rape or incest (“rape or incest exception”), or where a 
woman would be in danger of death if an abortion were not performed (“life-saving exception”).  
 
As a statutory provision included in annual appropriations acts, Congress can modify, and has modified, 
the Hyde Amendment’s scope over the years, both as to the parameters of exceptions and the sources 
of funding subject to this restriction.  
 
The Hyde Amendment would continue to restrict the use of federal Medicaid funds even with the 
adoption of the proposed Florida constitutional amendment.  While some states have elected to 
provide coverage for abortions that are not medically necessary, these states do so through the use of 
state funds, not federal funds that are restricted by the Hyde Amendment. 

In Florida, the issue of whether there is a state coverage obligation under the current privacy clause of 
the Florida Constitution was previously litigated - see, Renee B. v. Florida Agency for Health Care 
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Administration, 790 So. 2d 1036 (Fla. 2001). The Florida Supreme Court held that the Legislature’s 
choice not to fund abortions with state funds did not violate the right to privacy in the Florida 
Constitution, specifically noting: “[t]here is a big difference between a government making a decision 
not to fund the exercise of a constitutional right and doing something affirmatively to prohibit, restrict, 
or interfere with it” (quoting, Renee B., No. 97–3983 (Fla.2d Cir.Ct. Oct. 9, 1998)).  

Conclusion:  Under current law, the state does not have an obligation to pay for abortions. The 
proposed constitutional amendment does not expressly create a new obligation for the state to pay for 
abortions. The Florida Legislature has made no changes to its policies regarding state abortion funding 
under either the 15-week or 6-week prohibitions. Future legislative changes, if any, in response to the 
passage of the proposed amendment are unknown. 

 
 
State and Local Revenues: 
Revenue Impact from Out-of-State Abortions Occurring in Florida 

In the post-Roe landscape, where many states have enacted stricter regulations on abortion, many people 
seeking an abortion are traveling across state lines to get the medical care they want. In 2020, 
approximately 9 percent of all abortions in the United States were obtained by individuals traveling across 
state lines.9 This percentage has increased dramatically. For example, in Illinois, where abortion laws are 
not restrictive, one abortion clinic reported a 700 percent increase in out-of-state abortions in the 11 
months after Roe vs Wade was overturned.10 Illinois has seen a 28 percent increase in abortions from April 
2022 to August 2022 for the entire state.11 This documented increase in abortion travel has been witnessed 
in several states, including Colorado, Kansas, and New Mexico.  

Geographically, the most restrictive region in the United States is the Southeast. A 2022 study of the 
estimated travel time to the nearest abortion clinic found Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and 
Arkansas to have the longest travel times to the nearest abortion clinic that did post-6 week abortions.12 
For example, the study estimated that the nearest abortion clinic to a Louisiana resident was a 9.61 hour 
drive.13 With its 15-week threshold, Florida could be a destination for abortion travel since it is located 
within the Southeast region. To the extent that atypical travel to Florida has occurred or will occur, it 
generates additional sales tax collections. 

In 2022, Florida reported 82,581 abortions.14 Of those 82,581 abortions, 6,726 were related to out-of-state 
individuals.15 When compared to 2021, total abortions increased by 3 percent, but out-of-state abortions 
increased by 38 percent. While this signals that more individuals are traveling to Florida for abortions, the 
total level of out-of-state abortions remains low. In comparison, Florida’s total visitors in 2022 reached 
approximately 137.6 million.16  

                                                            
9 https://www.guttmacher.org/article/2022/07/even-roe-was-overturned-nearly-one-10-people-obtaining-abortion-traveled-

across 
10 https://www.plannedparenthood.org/reproductive-health-services-planned-parenthood-st-louis-region/press-releases/post-

dobbs-planned-parenthood-sees-700-increase-in-abortion-patients-traveling-to-illinois-from-outside-the-bi-state-region-for-care 
11 https://ci3.uchicago.edu/il-abortion-stats/ 
12 Rader, Benjamin, “Estimated Travel Time and Spatial Access to Abortion Facilities in the US Before and After the Dobbs v Jackson 

Women’s Health Decision” Published: November 1, 2022. Journal of American Medical Association.  
13 Ibid.  
14 https://ahca.myflorida.com/health-care-policy-and-oversight/bureau-of-central-services/frequently-requested- data 
15 Ibid. 
16 https://www.visitflorida.org/resources/research/research-faq/ 

https://www.guttmacher.org/article/2022/07/even-roe-was-overturned-nearly-one-10-people-obtaining-abortion-traveled-across
https://www.guttmacher.org/article/2022/07/even-roe-was-overturned-nearly-one-10-people-obtaining-abortion-traveled-across
https://ahca.myflorida.com/health-care-policy-and-oversight/bureau-of-central-services/frequently-requested-%20data
https://www.visitflorida.org/resources/research/research-faq/
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For 2023, only nine months of data are currently available. To project the 2023 annual number, the growth 
rate between 2023Q1-Q3 and 2022Q1-Q3 was used to grow the 2022Q4 level, producing an estimate for 
2023Q4. This estimate was then added to the data for the current year. The results indicate a small increase 
in total abortions (2 percent growth) and a significant increase in out-of-state abortions (24 percent 
growth). Charts and graphs of Florida’s abortion data can be found below.  

 

 

 

 

The data from Florida is inconclusive. While the state has seen an increase in out-of-state abortions since 
Roe vs Wade was overturned, Florida also saw a significant increase in out-of-state abortions prior to that 
decision. It is not clear that the current increase is related to Florida’s position (legally and geographically) 
relative to the other states in the Southeast. 

Conclusion:  As previously noted, the baseline for the analysis is uncertain. While atypical travel to the state 
would be expected to result in higher sales tax collections, this result would not be a direct effect of the 
proposed amendment.  


